Developing a Greater Understanding of the Four Broad Areas of SEND

Supporting you in assessing pupils' development in all four broad areas of need as described in the SEND Code of Practice.

CPD for Teachers

One of our expert trainers will deliver this training for you. All In-School training is tailor-made to your school's specific needs. trainer profile

The SEND Code of Practice 2015 outlines four broad areas of need for children and young people with SEND. These labels are not always helpful as very few pupils will fit under one heading. Many will have traits that exist from all four. Class teachers need to understand the meaning of each of these broad areas of need but more importantly they need to understand how they can adjust their teaching to support the children and young people in their class.

Each session will offer guidance on identification of specific needs plus ideas for strategies and resources that can be used by teachers in their classrooms to support individual children and young people.

  • Communication and Interaction Difficulties
  • Cognition and Learning
  • Social, Emotional and Mental Health Needs
  • Physical and Sensory Needs

Full Course Content

Introduction: What are the areas of SEND as outlined in the Code of Practice?

  • Definitions

Session 1: Communication and Interaction Difficulties

  • Speech, language and communication difficulties
  • Autistic Spectrum Disorders

Session 2: Cognition and Learning

  • Specific Learning Difficulties
  • Moderate Learning Difficulties
  • Severe Learning Difficulties
  • Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties
  • Complex Needs

Session 3: Social, Emotional and Mental Health Needs

  • Social and Emotional Difficulties
  • Mental Health
  • Changing patterns of behaviour

Session 4: Physical and Sensory Needs

  • Physical Difficulties
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Visual Impairment